Brockles Restaurant and Special Dressing

Remembering my Brockles Family, Restaurant, and Dressing

Name the Dressings

with 6 comments

Although the Special Dressing was the signature product, Brockles Food Company produced a number of dressings that were distributed in North Texas in those days.  I’m sure I can’t remember them all, but that’s what this post is about.  I’ll name the ones I remember off the top of my head and you can remind me of the others via the comments. 🙂

Let’s see.  There was the Brockles French Dressing, which actually caused quite a bit of excitement in the family one year when it outsold Kraft French Dressing in the Dallas market.  I can’t remember the year, I was a kid, but I remember the whoopla.

In no particular order, the company also made a Thousand Island dressing, a Roquefort dressing, and later produced Creamy Italian, Ranch, and Blue-Cheese dressings.

We also produced a Tartar Sauce and a Cocktail Sauce.  In retrospect, that’s a fairly impressive line of dressings and sauces for a little independent producer.label-creamy-ital-small.jpg

label-tartar-small.jpglabel-ranch-small.jpg

Written by Jim

October 16, 2007 at 6:41 am

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When I worked at Brockles Jr. in Canton Texas, I remember the signature Special dressing, the Thousand island, Blue Cheese, and French. Sophie used to thin the Thousand with a little milk and the Blue Cheese and the Special with buttermilk. I don’t remember her ever thinning down the French.

    Alice (Woods) Smith

    November 8, 2007 at 3:48 pm

  2. If I remember correctly, there was also a Poppyseed Dressing. It was a creamy poppyseed dressing served by Pizza Inn at their salad bars. I don’t know if it had the Brockles brand on it or the Pizza Inn brand, but I think they sold it retail, too. Maybe somebody could shed more light on this. Also, I remember the Foods Company doing business as far away as Peru. Let’s get the elders to add specifics to these vague memories of mine. I was just a kid.
    🙂

    Mike Ellis

    November 28, 2007 at 10:47 am

  3. I know that Brockles produced a creamy white dressing for Pizza Inn — maybe it had poppyseed in it. I remember seeing it. This was pre-1970. Brockles may have made it for them, based on their recipe. But it had a Pizza Inn label on it and they eventually produced it themselves.

    Jim

    June 11, 2008 at 9:54 am

  4. I remember the Pizza Inn dressing. It was really good. I’d love to have that recipe, too. I’m super glad to get the Original recipe. Every time I buy salad dressing, I look at for it. Somebody has a knock off version but I’ve never bought it. If anybody knows the Pizza Inn one, please post it!

    Bev Millison

    January 29, 2010 at 6:00 pm

  5. Pizza Inn dressing starts with mayo and secret ingredient is black olive juice…not sure of the rest, trying to find recipe.

    David Benson

    December 25, 2014 at 8:27 pm

  6. we’re getting closer to an answer here! when I googled it last year or so nothing found then?? so I assumed it was the forerunner of blue cheese dressing?? here==> I’m posting what I found credit to edsmith33 http://www.answers.com/Q/How_to_make_Pizza_inn_salad_dressing_receipe
    Pizza Inn’s. Miracle Whip dash garlic powder, black olive juice and celery seed. I used to work for Pizza Inn when I was just out of high school. and made this Pizza inn House dressing. We also added parsley flakes. I don’t know exact amounts though. Main part was miracle whip and black olive juice. From Ed: I too worked for Pizza Inn (in Dallas in the early 70’s) … I remember having to add some fennel seed as well. The dressing was good stuff, especially on sub sandwiches. The recipe was created by Pizza Inn founder’s (Joe Spillman’s) mother. The black olive juice was used to cut/thin down all of the dressings – thousand island, and whatever else we had back then.

    Cynthia Powers

    January 4, 2015 at 9:04 pm


Leave a Reply

